top of page
World map


Croatia flag

Croatia is a country in Southeast Europe situated on the eastern shore of the Adriatic Sea. It shares borders with Slovenia, Hungary, Serbia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, as well as Montenegro.

The history of the country dates back to ancient times, and evidence of its rich past can be seen in well-preserved Roman ruins, medieval castles, and charming old towns. Dubrovnik, also known as the "Pearl of the Adriatic," stands as a notable example with its impressive and well-preserved historic old town, famously featured in the globally acclaimed series "Game of Thrones."

Tourism plays a vital role in the Croatian economy. The numerous beaches and islands attract millions of visitors each year, drawn to the relaxed atmosphere, historical landmarks, and the natural beauty of the country.

Croatia at a glance:

  • Capital: Zagreb

  • Population: approx. 3.9 million

  • Area: 56,594 km²

  • Population density: 68 inhabitants/km²

  • Official language: Croatian

  • State & Form of government: parliamentary republic

  • Currency: Euro

Croatia icon
bottom of page